SABC News - Three changes to Proteas T-20 squad for World Cup:Wednesday 10 February 2016

Three changes to Proteas' T-20 squad for World Cup

Wednesday 10 February 2016 20:42

Joseph Mohale

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the Proteas squad for the upcoming T-20 World Cup to be hosted in India, from March.
The squad consists of players who know the Indian conditions as they participated in the Indian Premier League.

Faf du Plessis will lead the team.

Cricket South Africa's selectors have made only three changes to the team that did business for the Proteas in their decisive 2-0 win over India in the T-20 format towards the end of the 2015 Tour to India.

Aaron Phangiso, Rilee Rossouw and Dale Steyn take the place of Marchant de Lange, Eddie Leie and Khaya Zondon respectively, with perhaps the exclusion of Morne Mokel being the big surprise.

However, the Proteas T-20 skipper, Faf du Plessis, has since maintained that continuity will be instrumental to the team's success in the T-20 World Cup to be held in the sub-continental region.

Du Plessis says, “I think our performances over the last year, as the T-20 team, has been exceptional and also the team hasn't changed that much last year or year and half, which is something as selection unit always try to do.”

The T-20 World Cup tournament has been notorious for being unpredictable - a challenge the Proteas captain is fully aware of.

"But I do think we've got a very, very strong team and if we can play to what we can … also like Bucher said, we need a bit of luck, then you can find yourself in semifinals and then the team that is almost peaking at the right time and try to win it.”

The Proteas will play Australia in three T-20s in early March before travelling to India.

South Africa will open their campaign against England on March the 18th in Mumbai.

Share this page: Printer friendly version