SABC News - Two more SABC board members resign:Tuesday 15 November 2016

Two more SABC board members resign

Tuesday 15 November 2016 05:24


Chairperson, Mbulaheni Maguvhe is the only non-executive member.

Chairperson, Mbulaheni Maguvhe is the only non-executive member.(SABC)

Two more SABC board members have resigned, leaving the chairperson, Mbulaheni Maguvhe the only non-executive member.

Nomvuyo Mhlakaza and Aaron Tshidzumba tendered their resignations at the weekend.

This emerged as the DA filed an application in the Western Cape High Court in Cape Town.

The party is asking that SABC head of Corporate Affairs, Hlaudi Motsoeneng not be allowed to hold any position in the public broadcaster pending a review of the public protector's findings against him in a 2014 report.

Last month Professor Maguvhe said he will not step down from his position, regardless of an inquiry into the affairs of the SABC.  

This followed the SABC Board and senior executive management appearing before the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Communications.  

During the parliamentary committee meeting, Krish Naidoo and Vusi Mavuso tendered their resignations as SABC board members.  The portfolio committee had asked that the SABC Board be dissolved and that an inquiry be held into the affairs of the SABC.  

Maghuve was adamant that he is not going anywhere.

"Let the enquiry come. I'm ready for it. I am going nowhere. Before I was appointed to serve in this board, I was already a Professor at the University of South Africa. That is where I'm working even now. I didn't come to this board because of boredom or because I thought it will be another employment. I am not an employee here. I am going nowhere, with or without an inquiry."

Share this page: Printer friendly version